Recent advances in digital thermography have made the cameras used light enough and small enough to be placed in an aircraft’s cockpit. In addition, improvements in resolution and computing power will allow the implementation of expert systems which can be programmed to recognise the operator and how he or she will react to varying mental demands.

What they are trying to find out is, relation between breathing, nose temperature and correlation with mental stress. Based on it, several decisions can be taken.

The results show that when people are fully focused on a task, their breathing rate changes as the autonomic nervous system takes over. There may also be a diversion of blood flow from the face to the cerebral cortex as the mental demand increases, although this is the subject of further research. [1]

My question to self: do we really need such advance technologies to decipher this and predict humans for short term and long terms? Only when there are no humans who have perfected their senses to sense others.

How to perfect our senses? Now, let us connect it with ancient science of Shiva Svarodaya. Shiva Swarodaya is an ancient sanskrit tantric text.Its fundamental application is to realize the breath as being the medium of cosmic life force, through practising “Swara Yoga” (special mode of analysis & practising of breath). According to Mukti Bodhananda, the book enables us to understand nature of breath and its influence on the body as different modes of breathing leads to different types of actions; physical, mental and spiritual.

There are simple methods discussed in it to identify different states of human body.

Svarodaya science is about prediction about the breather’s health, his future and his auspicious possibilities in different walks of life. Basically, the text explains how one can control prana and by that control mana(mind) and get blessed by mahaprana.

There are ten prana flowing in our body.

मुख्यत: प्राण 5 – प्राण, अपान, समान, उदान और व्यान।

उपप्राण भी 5 – नाग, कूर्म, कृकल, देवदत्त और धनंजय।

मुख्य प्राण

१. प्राण – इसका स्थान नासिका से हृदय(heart) तक है। नेत्र, श्रोत्र, मुख आदि अवयव इसी के सहयोग से कार्य करते है। यह सभी प्राणों का राजा है। जैसे राजा अपने अधिकारियों को विभिन्न स्थानों पर विभिन्न कार्यों के लिए नियुक्त करता है, वैसे ही यह भी अन्य प्राणों को विभिन्न स्थानों पर विभिन्न कार्यों के लिए नियुक्त करता है।

२. अपान – इसका स्थान नाभि से पाँव तक है। यह गुदा इंद्रिय द्वारा मल व वायु तथा मूत्रेन्द्रिय द्वारा मूत्र व वीर्य को तथा योनि द्वारा रज व गर्भ को शरीर से बाहर निकालने का कार्य करता है।

३. समान – इसका स्थान हृदय से नाभि तक है। यह खाए हुए अन्न को पचाने तथा पचे हुए अन्न से रस, रक्त आदि धातुओं को बनाने का कार्य करता है।

४. उदान – यह कण्ठ से शिर (मस्तिष्क) तक के अवयवों में रहता है। शब्दों का उच्चारण, वमन आदि के अतिरिक्त यह अच्छे कर्म करने वाली जीवात्मा को उत्तम योनि में व बुरे कर्म करने वाली जीवात्मा को बुरे लोक (सूअर, कुत्ते आदि की योनि) में तथा जिस मनुष्य के पाप-पुण्य बराबर हो, उसे मनुष्य लोक(मनुष्य योनि) में ले जाता है।

५. व्यान – यह सम्पूर्ण शरीर में रहता है। हृदय से मुख्य १०१ नाड़ियाँ निकलती हैं, प्रत्येक नाड़ी की १००-१०० शाखाएँ है तथा प्रत्येक शाखा की भी ७२००० उपशाखाएँ है। इस प्रकार कुल ७२७२१०२०१ नाड़ी शाखा-उपशाखाओं में यह रहता है। समस्त शरीर में रक्त संचार, प्राण-संचार का कार्य यही करता है तथा अन्य प्राणों को उनके कार्यों में सहयोग भी देता है।


१. नाग – यह कण्ठ से मुख तक रहता है। डकार, हिचकी आदि कर्म इसी के द्वारा होते है।

२. कूर्म – इसका स्थान मुख्य रूप से नेत्र गोलक है। यह नेत्र गोलकों में रहता हुआ उन्हें दाएँ-बाएँ, ऊपर-नीचे घुमाने की तथा पलकों को खोलने बंद करने की क्रिया करता है। आँसू भी इसी के सहयोग से निकलते है।

३. कृकल – यह मुख से हृदय तक के स्थान में रहता है तथा जंभाई, भूख, प्यास आदि को उत्पन्न करने का कार्य करता है।

४. देवदत्त – यह नासिका से कण्ठ तक के स्थान में रहता है। इसका कार्य छींक, आलस्य, तन्द्रा, निद्रा आदि को लाने का है।

५. धनंजय – यह सम्पूर्ण शरीर में व्यापक है। इसका कार्य शरीर के अवयवों को खींचे रखना, माँसपेशियों(muscles) को सुंदर बनाना आदि है। शरीर में से जीवात्मा के निकल जाने पर यह भी निकल जाता है, फलत: इस प्राण के अभाव में शरीर फूल जाता है।

In science of svarodaya, we learn to experience and control movements of these Vayu through three most important Nadi(s) – ईडा, पिङ्गला, सुषुम्णा

The Ida nadi represents moon and the pingala represents the Sun. Breath flow happens via them alternatively for around 90 minutes. Due to our habits not synced with them, their flow disturbed and sometime shorten. Left Nasal is called Ida Svara and right Nasal is called Pingala. Every morning, you start with either Ida or Pingala. This right and left nostril flows also have impact by day of the month and season.

Instead of measuring nose temperature, if we learn the Svara science, we can adjust our left or right nostril breathing based on the task on hand and existing fatigue body is suffering from.

For more detail: Read any book on Shiva Svarodaya. Practice it and make all your tasks effortless. We will really don’t need thermography to know stress level 😉 🙂

Book suggestion:

Swara Yoga: The Tantric Science of Brain Breathing by Swami Muktibodhananda (amazon link) 

[1] How the temperature of your nose shows how much strain you are under

The demonstration of feasibility of physiological measures as a method as presented within this paper allows the identification of guidance for how this approach can be used in the future and requirements for further research. The methods presented in this article, with current technological capabilities, are better suited for workplaces where the subject is seated, but the methods can cope with a limited amount of head movement. Continuous real-time noninvasive workload measurement techniques are now a realistic proposition that will allow for improved design of human–machine systems, operating procedures, and operations scheduling in ways that will bring us closer to the goal of optimizing human well-being and overall system performance.