विजिगीषु : The one who lives life like a warrior by having control on all senses by conquering all of them by Kindness ,Tolerance ,Being without jealousy ,Cleanliness ,Doing things with a balanced mind without over exertion ,Concentrating on the good and the auspicious ,Being generous and without greed ,Having a mind devoid of desires.

Best book I have read so far on विजिगीषु is Bhagwad Gita.

Desire, the feeling that accompanies an unsatisfied state, an inclination to want things, can Never be fulfilled. Bad (Life-endangering) desires can be destroyed only by promoting good (life-enriching) desires and then becoming completely undesirous.


Krushn described desire in Gita as :


Born of the activating attribute of Nature (rajo-guna), it is desire, it is anger, (that is the impelling force)—full of unappeasable craving and great evil: know this (two-sided passion) to be the foulest enemy here on earth. Gita 3.37

As fire is enveloped by smoke, as a mirror by dust, as an embryo by the womb, so this (wisdom) is enveloped by that (desire). Gita 3.38


O Son of Kunti (Arjuna)! the constant enemy of wise men is the unslakable flame of desire, by which wisdom is concealed. Gita 3.39


The senses, mind, and intellect are said to be desire’s formidable stronghold; through these, desire deludes the embodied soul by eclipsing its wisdom. Therefore, O Best of the Bharata Dynasty (Arjuna)! first discipline the senses, then destroy desire, the sinful annihilator of wisdom and Self-realization.

Gita 3.40-41


Three types of desires described in Gita



Peaceful (satvic) – desire dominated by satva guna is like fire being choked with smoke. A slight breeze is enough to remove the smoke and bring out the flame in all its glory.

Restless (rajasic) – desire gushes out from a restless and selfish urge to acquire, possess and enjoy the sense-objects. This desire demands strenuous attempts for its removal.

Low (tamasic) – To remove the foetus in the womb, not only is effort required, but efflux of time as well. Time and self-preparations are necessary to eliminate the deep-rooted tamasic desire.


Here is interesting list of sanskrit words explaining different desires.You decide which one is bad and which one is good for you.


१)  चिकीर्षा        : काम करने की इच्छा –                Intention or desire to make or do or perform

२)  प्रपित्सु          : पाने की इच्छा रखने वाला –           desirous of entering upon/Desire to capture something

३)  जिहीर्षा     : छीन लेने की इच्छा –                  Desire to snatch

४)  जिजीविषु  : जो जीने की इच्छा करता हो –         Desire to live

५)  जिगीर्षा    : जीतने की इच्छा –            desire of final emancipation

६)  तितीर्षा     : तैरने की इच्छा –              Desire to swim

७)  दिदृक्षा     : देखने की इच्छा –             desire of seeing

८)  बुभुक्षा      : खाने की इच्छा –              Appetite

९)  मुमुक्षु      : मोक्ष की इच्छा रखने वाला –          Desirous of freedom

१०) मुमूर्षु      : मरने की इच्छा रखने वाला – wishing to die

११) प्रचिकीर्षु   : जो बदला लेना चाहता हो –            Wishing or intending to requite

१२) युयुत्सु     : जो युद्ध के लिये लालायित है –         Desirous to fight

१३) यियसु     : जो यज्ञ की अभिलाषा रखता हो –     Desire to perform Yagna(act of worship or


१४) शुश्रुषु      : जो सेवा करने की इच्छा रखता हो –   Desire for service

१५) सहिष्णु    : जो सहने की शक्ति रखता हो –        Desire to be tolerant

१६) पिपासु     : प्यासा या पाने की इच्छा रखने वाला-          Thirsty


For sanctification of the ego, yogis perform actions solely with (the instruments of action) the body, the mind, discrimination, or even the senses, forsaking attachment (disallowing ego involvement, with its attachments and desires). Gita 5.11